Skip to main content

What is the Board of Trustees?

The Board of Trustees is a five-person, policy-making body which operates within the laws of the State of California and El Dorado County.  Each board member is elected for a four-year term; terms of office are staggered with elections held every two years.  It is responsible for approving the district’s budget and adopting all policies and curriculum.  The authority of the Board is as a whole and no board member may act as an official of the district, except when the Board meets in a regular or a special session.  The Board of Trustees is elected to represent all of the people of the school district.  In making its decisions, the Board is guided by what is in the best interest of the students and the entire district.

The Board President and Clerk are selected during the organizational meeting held in December.

Board of Trustees

Pollock Pines Elementary School District Board of Trustees

The Pollock Pines Elementary School District Board of Trustees set policies and rules that govern the administration of the school district. The board operates according to both state and federal laws and regulations. School Board Members welcome all correspondence. If you choose to contact Board Members via email, please note the following guidelines:


1. All Board Members and District Administration will receive your email.


2. Emails are subject to Freedom of Information Act requests.


3. If your email concerns a daily or operational issue, or request for information, it will be addressed by the Superintendent.


4. You may contact the District Governance Team at

Dennis Cullen




J. Dennis Cullen 

Trustee Since December 2000

Term: 12/02/2020 - 12/13/2024

Sue McVey



Susan McVey, President

Trustee Since December 2010

Term: 12/09/2022 - 12/11/2026

Mike Bird



Michael Bird

Trustee Since December 2010

Term: 12/09/2022 - 12/11/2026

Dave Campbell



Dave Campbell, Clerk

Trustee Since December 2008

Term: 12/09/2022 - 12/11/2026

Tom Griffin



Thomas E. Griffin

Trustee Since December 1996

Term: 12/2/2020 - 12/13/2024